The Story The Teacher The Artists Galleries Historical Timeline Media Catalogue Contemporary Research Education
Education

Inkameep Art Education Unit

Lesson 3: From child to professional artist



Catalogue Image: 1967-028-029, Rodeo
[figure 9. Rodeo]
Catalogue Image: 1967-028-029

The story of Francis Baptiste

For young people who love to create art, it is important to consider the possibility of seeking higher education and pursuing a career in art. One boy in Anthony Walsh's class did just that. His work showed promise, as recognized by classmates and by the community. Funding higher education would have been very difficult for a young man from the reservation but the old Chief agreed to send Francis Baptiste to an Indian Art School at Santa Fe, New Mexico. He studied there for one school year. On his return the Chief built him a studio near Francis' home where he painted many pictures that were sent to different countries throughout the world.

Mentors, sponsors, and higher education

It is one thing to enjoy art and quite another to make a decision about continuing it as a vocation in life. Among those who make that choice, several factors are almost always present. The first is a mentor an adult who will take an interest in the young person, providing instruction and offering encouragement. It would seem that Anthony Walsh played that sort of role. The second is the recognition by one's peers of having a talent or gift for art. Francis' classmates chose him to design the painting on buckskin to be sent to a competition in London. The third factor is recognition from a wider audience. After some weeks, there came an announcement over the radio that the picture "Inkameep Nativity" had won a Silver Medal, and was going to be taken to Buckingham Palace for the Queen to see. Winning a medal at the Royal Drawing Society's Exhibit for Commonwealth children is a remarkable achievement; such acknowledgements are a source of community pride and may well have been a defining moment in Francis' decision to become an artist. The Native American Art School in Santa Fe was and remains an outstanding place for art training. It provides First Nations youth with an atmosphere where their traditional cultural values are respected. There are schools in Canada where First Nations young people can learn methods of painting, carving, jewelry making, and other art forms with teaching methods that respect the apprenticeship approach. The resources section of this lesson lists a number of post secondary institutions.

Catalogue Image: 2002-005, Standing horse
[figure 10. Standing horse]
Catalogue Image: 2002-005

The horse and rider theme is one that had been a popular one among the young people at Inkameep. Sis-hu-lk is Francis' Indian name and in the artwork (figure 9) it is clear that he had strong feelings about this aspect of life. The angle of view is low with the result that the powerful horse seems menacing to viewers as its hooves lash about in the effort to throw the rider from its back. Clouds of dust are raised and the rider seems both small and off balance. The outcome of this furious contest is not shown, leaving viewers to guess at the result. The artwork is on gray paper so the flashing white fetlocks, star, mane, and tail draw the eye.

A very different mood is created in figure 10 (also by Sis-hu-lk) where a lone horse stands in a field, head lowered. It may be subdued, aging, or simply eating. The general gray tones without the benefit of strong black outlines of the previous work, is muted. The square format is a further confining device that arrests movement and the animal is centrally located within the borders. The angle of view is more likely that of a normal standing position. Such a range of expressive moods shows the hand of a skilled artist.




Creating and responding ideas for the classroom

  1. Seek out biographies of professional artists and where possible, study and compare examples of the artwork they did as children with artwork done as an adult. Are there subjects or themes that have continued into adult life, favorite media or ways of working?
  2. Check out the web sites of several First Nations art colleges in Canada and Native American art colleges in the United States. Review the curricula and compare with curricula from art schools for predominately non-native students. What similarities and differences are discovered and what might this reveal about cultural traditions and values?
  3. Invite an artist to the school as part of a careers program or create an opportunity for an artist-in-residence where students can see how a professional artist works. Encourage students to collaborate with the artist on a mural or some other project.

Resources: Web Sites, Institutions, and Curricular Resources

Education for First Nations Artists

The Institute for American Indian Arts
http://www.iaiancad.org/
IAIA is one of the best-known and oldest post secondary institutions in North America, dedicated to reawakening artistic traditions that had been a primary mode of Indian expression for centuries. It is premised on the value of cultural heritage of America's Native peoples. This institute currently offers five programs of study: General/Liberal Arts, Creative Writing, Two or Three Dimensional Arts, and Museum Studies.

The First Nations University of Canada
http://www.firstnationsuniversity.ca/
Formerly known as the Saskatchewan Indian Federated College, the mission of this university is to enhance the quality of life, and to preserve, protect, and interpret the history, language, culture, and artistic heritage of First Nations.

The Canadian Museum of Civilization's Aboriginal Training Programme in Museum Practices
http://www.civilisations.ca/media/show_pr_e.asp?ID=121
This is a year long course, September to April, designed for Aboriginal participants to gain experience in the technical aspects of museum and collections work.

The Kitanmaax School of Northwest Coast Indian Art
http://www.ksan.org/html/village/houses.workshop.htm
The art school offers a four-year program dedicated to the renewal and passing of carving, a special art form, to succeeding generations. Students strengthen and build on the old art traditions by training in the style and skills of master carvers. Many well-established Northwest Coast artists have marked their beginnings at the Kitanmaax School in Hazelton, B.C.

British Columbia's Grade 12 First Nations Education Curriculum
http://www.bced.gov.bc.ca/irp/bcfns12/ceat.htm
The program is called "Cultural Expressions, Artistic Traditions"; the site includes learning outcomes, strategies, and resources.

The British Columbia Teachers Federation (BCTF) Aboriginal Education Initiatives
http://www.bctf.ca/social/AboriginalEd/
Curriculum resources are available on this site along with many First Nations and educational links.

The First Nations Education Centre, School District No. 82 in Terrace, B.C.
http://www.cmsd.bc.ca/schools/FNEC/pp.html
District schools provide a strong emphasis on First Nations and employ an arts focus from kindergarten through grade 12. While the curriculum is not available at the web site, the mission statement is provided.

 



Next »» Lesson 4: Integrated Arts
Previous »» Lesson 2: Horses and the Economy

L'histoire Le professeur Les artistes Galeries Historique Catalogue médias Recherche actuelle Éducation
Éducationducation

Unité d'enseignement de l'art Inkameep

Leçon 3: De l'enfant à l'artiste professionnel



Image Catalogue: 1967-028-029, Rodéo
[figure 9. Rodéo]
Image Catalogue: 1967-028-029

Histoire de Francis Baptiste

Il est important pour les jeunes qui aiment créer de l'art de tenir compte de la possibilité d'accéder à un enseignement supérieur et de poursuivre une carrière artistique. C'est ce qu'a fait un garçon de la classe d'Anthony Walsh. Son travail était révélateur de promesses, reconnu par ses camarades et par la communauté. Il aurait été très difficile pour un jeune homme de la réserve de trouver l'argent nécessaire à une éducation supérieure mais le vieux chef accepta d'envoyer Francis Baptiste dans une école d'art indien à Santa Fe, au Nouveau Mexique. Il y étudia pendant toute une année. À son retour, le chef lui fit bâtir un atelier près de sa maison où il put peindre de nombreuses œuvres qui furent envoyées dans de nombreux pays du monde entier.

Conseillers, commanditaires et enseignement supérieur

C'est une chose d'aimer l'art et c'en est une autre de prendre la décision de suivre sa vocation d'artiste dans la vie. Parmi ceux qui font ce choix, on retrouve presque toujours la présence de plusieurs facteurs. Le premier est la présence d'un conseiller -un adulte qui s'intéressera au jeune, l'instruira et lui donnera des encouragements. Il semblerait qu'Anthony Walsh ait joué ce rôle. Le deuxième tient à la présence d'un talent ou d'un don pour l'art reconnue par ses condisciples. Les camarades de Francis l'ont choisi pour réaliser la peinture sur la peau de daim qu'on devait envoyer au concours de Londres. Le troisième facteur tient à la reconnaissance d'un public plus vaste. On annonça à la radio au bout de quelques semaines que le tableau intitulé "Nativité Inkameep" avait remporté une médaille d'argent, et allait être porté au palais de Buckingham pour que la Reine puisse le voir. Obtenir une médaille à l'exposition de la Royal Drawing Society destinée aux enfants du Commonwealth est un succès remarquable; une telle reconnaissance est une source de fierté pour la communauté et peut avoir été un moment décisif de la vocation artistique de Francis. La Native American Art School de Santa Fe était et demeure un lieu remarquable de formation artistique. Elle donne aux jeunes autochtones un espace dans lequel leurs valeurs culturelles traditionnelles sont respectées. Il existe au Canada des écoles où les jeunes autochtones peuvent acquérir des procédés pour peindre, sculpter, faire des bijoux et d'autres formes d'art grâce à des méthodes pédagogiques qui respectent l'approche de l'apprenant. La section ressources de cette leçon énumère une liste d'établissements d'enseignement supérieur.

Image Catalogue: 2002-005, Cheval debout
[figure 10. Cheval debout]
Image Catalogue: 2002-005

Le thème du cheval et de son cavalier était très populaire auprès des jeunes d'Inkameep. Sis-hu-lk, le nom indien de Francis, et son œuvre (figure 9) révèle clairement la force de ses sentiments à propos de cet aspect de la vie. L'angle de champ est bas, ainsi le puissant cheval semble menacer ceux qui le regardent alors que ses sabots se débattent violemment dans l'effort de jeter bas le cavalier. Des nuages de poussière s'élèvent et le cavalier semble perdre peu à peu l'équilibre. On ne voit pas le résultat de ce furieux combat, ce qui laisse aux spectateurs le soin de le deviner. L'œuvre est réalisée sur du papier gris et les fanons, l'étoile, la crinière et la queue d'un blanc éclatant attirent le regard.

La figure 10 (également de Sis-hu-lk) qui représente un cheval solitaire debout dans un pré, la tête basse, suscite une toute autre atmosphère. Il s'agit peut être d'un animal soumis, vieillissant ou tout simplement en train de manger. Les tons gris de l'ensemble sont voilés, sans le bénéfice des contours noirs bien marqués de l'œuvre précédente. Le format carré est un élément supplémentaire d'enfermement qui arrête tout mouvement et l'animal se tient au centre à l'intérieur des bords. L'angle de champ correspond davantage à une position debout normale. Il faut la main d'un artiste talentueux pour pouvoir exprimer des ambiances si différentes.




Créer des idées et leur donner une suite pour la classe

  1. Recherchez des biographies d'artistes professionnels et, quand c'est possible, étudiez et comparez des exemples d'œuvres d'art qu'ils ont réalisées dans leur enfance avec celles faites à l'âge adulte. Existe-t-il des sujets ou des thèmes auxquels ils ont continué de souscrire au cours de leur vie adulte, des médias ou des modes de travail qui leur plaisaient davantage?
  2. Vérifiez les sites web de différents collèges de beaux-arts autochtones au Canada et aux États-Unis. Examinez les programmes et comparez-les à ceux des écoles de beaux-arts fréquentées essentiellement par une population non autochtone. Quelles ressemblances et quelles différences observez-vous et que peuvent-elles révéler sur les traditions et les valeurs culturelles?
  3. Invitez un artiste à l'école dans le cadre d'un programme de promotion professionnelle ou demandez à un artiste en résidence de venir pour que vos élèves puissent voir comment travaille un artiste professionnel. Encouragez les élèves à collaborer avec l'artiste pour la réalisation d'une fresque murale ou de tout autre projet.

Ressources: Sites web, établissements et ressources pédagogiques.

Enseignement destiné aux artistes des Premières Nations

The Institute for American Indian Arts
http://www.iaiancad.org/
L'IAIA est l'un des établissements postsecondaires les mieux connus et les plus anciens de l'Amérique du Nord; il se consacre à la renaissance des traditions artistiques qui avaient été un mode d'expression originel des Indiens pendant des siècles. Il se base sur la valeur du patrimoine culturel autochtone américain. Cet établissement offre actuellement cinq programmes d'études: programme général d'art et programme d'arts libéraux, création littéraire, arts bi et tridimensionnels, et études muséales.

Université des Premières Nations du Canada
http://www.firstnationsuniversity.ca/
Auparavant connue sous le nom du Saskatchewan Indian Federated College, la mission de cette université est d'accroître la qualité de vie, et de sauvegarder, protéger et interpréter l'histoire, les langues, la culture et le patrimoine artistique des Premières Nations.

Programme de formation en pratiques muséales destiné aux Autochtones du Musée canadien des civilisations
http://www.civilisations.ca/media/show_pr_e.asp?ID=121
Ce programme d'une durée d'une année académique, de septembre à Avril, vise à procurer une formation professionnelle et technique et une expérience concrète en pratiques muséales aux Autochtones

L'école d'art indien du nord-ouest de Kitanmaax
http://www.ksan.org/html/village/houses.workshop.htm
L'école d'art offre un programme de quatre ans consacré au renouvellement de la sculpture, une forme artistique spéciale, et à la transmission de ses techniques aux générations qui vont suivre. Les étudiants renforcent ces techniques et en ajoutent de nouvelles à partir des vieilles traditions en acquérant leur formation et leurs talents auprès de maîtres sculpteurs. De nombreux artistes connus de la Côte nord-ouest ont commencé leur carrière à l'école Kitanmaax de Hazelton en C-B

Programme d'enseignement destiné aux élèves autochtones de 12e année en Colombie-Britannique
http://www.bced.gov.bc.ca/irp/bcfns12/ceat.htm
Le programme s'appelle "Cultural Expressions, Artistic Traditions"; le site comprend des résultats d'apprentissage, des stratégies et des ressources.

Initiatives pédagogiques pour les autochtones de la Fédération des enseignantes et enseignants de la Colombie-Britannique
http://www.bctf.ca/social/AboriginalEd/
Ce site procure des ressources sur le programme et de nombreux liens pédagogiques concernant les autochtones.

Centre d'éducation des Premières Nations, district scolaire No 82 à Terrace, C-B
http://www.cmsd.bc.ca/schools/FNEC/pp.html
Les écoles de district mettent les Premières Nations au premier plan et accordent beaucoup d'importance à l'art depuis la maternelle jusqu'à la douzième année. Bien que le programme ne soit pas disponible sur le site web, celui-ci présente l'énoncé de sa mission.

 



Suivante »» Leçon 4: Arts intégrés
Précédente »» Leçon 2: Les chevaux et l'économie