The Story The Teacher The Artists Galleries Historical Timeline Media Catalogue Contemporary Research Education
Education

Inkameep Art Education Unit

Lesson 2: Horses and the Economy



Ranching and equestrian art

Catalogue Image: 00x2, FLocal people on horseback
[figure 6. Local people on horseback]
Catalogue Image: 00x2

Chief Batiste George was a man well advanced in years, possessing considerable wisdom and vision. It was largely due to his initiative that the vigorous bands of horses and herds of cattle were present on the Inkameep reservation. Raising horses requires many skills and considerable understanding. In the emerging economy, it seemed a perfect fit for the people of Inkameep. Photographs from the time as well as artworks created by the students reveal the central place of horses in their lives: whether for rodeos, recreational use, or as work animals for tending cattle. The drawings done by the young people reveal their familiarity with the subject; the anatomy is keenly understood as are the habits of the animals.

A theme as old as art itself

Among the oldest paintings known to the world are the cave paintings of Lascaux, estimated to be about 40,000 years old. Art historians marvel at the skill with which the artist or artists rendered the form of a running horse, along with many other animals that have either been domesticated or have long since disappeared from southern France and Spain. Perhaps it is ironic that the horses in North America first arrived from Spain with Spanish conquistadors and escaped to the vast plains of the American southwest and beyond.

For many educators, a theme such as equestrian art has a way of captivating the interests of young people and linking artworks from around the world and throughout time, an approach to art history that is more appropriate in some respects than the overwhelming survey method as it trudges across centuries in a dreary chronology. A thematic approach invites students to notice differences and similarities across time and culture. Ceramic horses with rounded bodies from ancient China differ markedly from the powerful, armored horses of Medieval Europe, for example, pointing to breeding for different purposes as well as stylistic interpretations. From this one theme there are opportunities to branch out to discussions about transport, wealth, warfare, and so forth.

In the Nemiah Valley of central British Columbia, the Chilcotin First Nation people are engaged in negotiation regarding their treaty rights which, in large measure, includes a longtime association with horses introduced by the Spanish in the 1700s. For the Chilcotin, horses are still an important part of their cultural heritage. For more information about the Xeni Gwetin (the Tsilhqot'in people of Nemiah Valley) explore the following web sites: http://xenigwetin.com/History/History-Profile.html and http://www.fonv.ca/

Catalogue Image: 1963-113-008, Mare and colt
[figure 7. Mare and colt]
Catalogue Image: 1963-113-008

The young people of Inkameep were perhaps as familiar with horses as Canadian children are with bicycles. They learned how to expertly handle these large, powerful animals and to care for them.

In this painting of a mare and colt (figure 7) the close bond between mother and young is captured. The gait is remarkably accurate and the artwork effectively portrays movement.

Catalogue Image: 1963-113-003-d4, Rider thrown from horse
[figure 8. Rider thrown from horse]
Catalogue Image: 1963-113-003-d4

In this rodeo painting (figure 8) the bucking bronco shows a very different aspect of equestrian art the challenge of staying on a horse that is determined to throw its rider. The excitement and danger is palpable. It can be very challenging to draw a tumbling figure; the artist has demonstrated considerable skill and made the scene believable. From the two artworks we see the necessity of knowing one's subject. We also see the way the horse can be used expressively to reveal different themes ranging from gentle nurturance to struggle for dominance.

Creating and responding ideas for the classroom

  1. Invite students to gather reproductions of art about horses from many cultures and throughout history. The artworks could be sculptures, paintings, works on fabric or works in glass. Using photocopies of the artworks, create a wall display in which the equestrian art is arranged horizontally by chronology and vertically by culture or continent. From the display, note gaps in the record, similarities and differences among the works, and discuss possible reasons that emerge from such comparisons.
  2. Many artists create studies in advance of producing paintings or sculptures of a subject. Learn about the anatomy of horses by looking at books of skeletal structure, musculature and, of course, photographs of live animals in various positions and seen from various point of view. Create a page of horse drawings in which the knowledge is displayed as scientific enquiry.
  3. Investigate the mythology of horses, including Pegasus, centaurs, unicorns, and so forth. In art such as this, imagination reaches beyond reality to a more personal identification with the animal. Each mythological animal was first created in the mind of an artist or storyteller. Using your knowledge of horses, develop your own magical horse and construct it using clay.

Resources: Web Sites, and Books

Horses, Ranching, and Art
Canadian Museum of Civilization has sponsored a site called Legends of our Times: Native Ranching and Rodeo Life on the Plains and Plateau
http://www.civilization.ca/aborig/rodeo/rodeo00e.html
The site examines the history of the horse in First Nations culture and describes aspects of both past and present ranching and rodeo culture. This includes the arts and industries associated with ranching and the rodeo circuit. The work of several individual artisans is featured with short biographies, and the site focuses almost exclusively upon British Columbia and Alberta. While there, check out the rodeo pages from the Okanagan region.
http://www.civilization.ca/aborig/rodeo/rodeo03e.html
http://www.civilization.ca/aborig/rodeo/rodeo35e.html

Culture Canada: Aboriginal Culture and Heritage
http://culturecanada.gc.ca/chdt/interface/interface2.nsf/engdocBasic/1.2.html
The Canadian Government site has links to dozens of other sites related to First Nations history, politics, education, arts and culture. It is informative and well presented.

The Museum of the Cariboo Chilcotin
http://www.cowboy-museum.com/firstnations.htm
Located in Williams Lake, B.C. the museum shows current and historical photographs of rodeo culture and artifacts relating to ranching.

Equestrian Fine Art
http://www.equestrianfineart.com/basket/CL_Shop.asp
This is not specific to First Nations or even to North America. The site features art for sale, promoting artists whose theme is horses. Work spans a range of media including painting, printmaking, and sculpture.

Books

Braidei, D. (1977). The life, history and magic of the horse. New York: Grossot and Dunlap.

Fein, S. (1984). Heidi's Horse. Pleasant Hill CA: Exelrod Press.
Written by art educator Sylvia Fein, this is the collected and annotated drawings of one girl named Heidi, from the age of three to seventeen. The book is a prime example of coming to know a subject through drawing and provides a longitudinal study of artistic development.

Macgregor-Morris, P. (Ed.). (1987). The complete book of the horse. London: New Burlington Press.

Tinkelman, M. (1982). Rodeo. New York: Quill.

 



Next »» Lesson 3: From child to professional artist
Previous »» Lesson 1: Petroglyphs and Pictographs

L'histoire Le professeur Les artistes Galeries Historique Catalogue médias Recherche actuelle Éducation
Éducation

Unité d'enseignement de l'art Inkameep

Leçon 2: Les chevaux et l'économie



L'élevage et l'art équestre

Image Catalogue: 00x2, Gens du pays à cheval
[figure 6. Gens du pays à cheval]
Image Catalogue: 00x2

Le chef Baptiste George était un vieil homme à l'époque. C'était un sage et un visionnaire remarquable. La présence sur la réserve d'Inkameep de vigoureux troupeaux de chevaux et du reste du cheptel étaient largement dus à son initiative. L'élevage de chevaux exige de nombreuses compétences et un très grand savoir-faire. Pour les gens d'Inkameep, cela paraissait un créneau parfait au sein de leur économie naissante. Des photographies de l'époque tout comme les œuvres d'art créées par les élèves révèlent la place centrale qu'occupaient les chevaux dans leurs vies: qu'il s'agisse des rodéos, de loisirs ou des bêtes pour l'entretien du bétail. Les dessins réalisés par les enfants illustrent leur familiarité avec le sujet; l'anatomie et les habitudes des animaux sont clairement comprises.

Un thème aussi ancien que l'art lui-même

Les peintures rupestres de Lascaux sont parmi les plus anciennes peintures du monde: on estime qu'elles remontent à plus de 40 000 années. Les historiens de l'art s'émerveillent du talent avec lequel l'artiste ou les artistes ont rendu la forme d'un cheval en course, ou de celle de beaucoup d'autres animaux qui avaient été domestiqués ou avaient disparu depuis longtemps du sud de la France et de l'Espagne. Il est sans doute ironique de constater que les chevaux nord-américains sont arrivés au début de l'Espagne avec les conquistadores puis se sont échappés vers les vastes plaines du sud-ouest de l'Amérique et au-delà.

Pour de nombreux pédagogues, un thème comme celui de l'art équestre captive l'intérêt des jeunes et établit un lien entre des œuvres du monde entier et de toutes les époques; il est une approche de l'histoire de l'art qui, à de nombreux égards, est plus appropriée que ces pesantes méthodes d'enquête qui traînent péniblement à travers les siècles dans une morne chronologie. Une approche thématique invite les élèves à remarquer des différences et des similarités selon l'époque et la culture. Les chevaux en terre cuite aux corps arrondis de la Chine ancienne diffèrent sensiblement des chevaux puissants et cuirassés de l'Europe médiévale par exemple, ce qui attire l'attention autant sur la reproduction pour des objectifs différents que sur des styles distincts d'interprétation. À partir de ce thème on peut se diriger vers des discussions sur le transport, le patrimoine, la conduite de la guerre et ainsi de suite.

Dans la vallée de Nemiah située dans le centre de la Colombie-Britannique, les Premières Nations Chilcotin sont engagées dans des négociations au sujet de leurs droits issus des traités qui, dans une grande mesure, comprennent une association prolongée avec les chevaux amenés par les Espagnols au XVIIIème siècle. Pour les Chilcotin, les chevaux forment encore une part importante de leur patrimoine culturel. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les Xeni Gwetin (communautés Tsilhqot'in de la vallée de la Nemiah) reportez-vous aux sites web suivants: http://xenigwetin.com/History/History-Profile.html et http://www.fonv.ca/

Image Catalogue: 1963-113-008, Jument et poulain
[figure 7. Jument et poulain]
Image Catalogue: 1963-113-008

Pour les jeunes d'Inkameep, les chevaux leur semblaient aussi familiers que les bicyclettes pour les jeunes Canadiens. Ils avaient appris comment traiter correctement et prendre soin de ces gros et puissants animaux.

Sur cette peinture d'une jument et de son poulain (figure 7) le lien étroit qui unit la mère et son petit a bien été saisi. L'allure est remarquablement précise et l'œuvre décrit le mouvement avec beaucoup d'habileté.

Image Catalogue: 1963-113-003-d4, Cavalier jeté à bas de son cheval
[figure 8. Cavalier jeté à bas de son cheval]
Image Catalogue: 1963-113-003-d4

Sur cette peinture de rodéo (figure 8), ce cheval sauvage entrain de ruer montre un aspect très différent de l'art équestre - le défi qui consiste à rester sur le dos d'un cheval qui ne pense qu'à se débarrasser de son cavalier. L'excitation et le danger sont palpables. Il faut beaucoup d'audace pour dessiner un personnage en pleine chute. L'artiste a manifesté un talent considérable et a su rendre la scène crédible. Ces deux œuvres nous prouvent qu'il faut bien connaître son sujet. Nous voyons aussi comment on peut se servir du cheval de façon expressive pour exposer différents thèmes de celui de la tendresse maternelle à celui de la lutte pour exercer une domination.

Créer des idées et leur donner une suite pour la classe

  1. Invitez les élèves à réunir des reproductions d'œuvres d'art sur les chevaux en provenance de diverses cultures et époques historiques. Les œuvres peuvent compter des sculptures, des peintures, des objets en tissu ou en verre. À partir de photocopies de ces œuvres, réalisez un mur d'exposition sur lequel l'art équestre apparaît horizontalement par ordre chronologique et verticalement par culture ou par continent. Notez les lacunes de la documentation, les ressemblances et les différences entre les œuvres, et discutez les causes possibles qui ressortent de telles comparaisons.
  2. Beaucoup d'artistes produisent des études avant de réaliser des peintures ou des sculptures d'un sujet. Renseignez-vous sur l'anatomie du cheval en consultant des livres sur la structure du squelette, la musculature et, bien sûr, des photographies d'animaux vivants dans diverses positions et considérés sous différents angles. Réalisez une page de dessins de chevaux dans lesquels vous exposez votre savoir comme le résultat d'une enquête scientifique.
  3. Faites des recherches sur la mythologie du cheval: Pégase, les centaures, les licornes et ainsi de suite. Dans ce type d'art, l'imagination dépasse la réalité pour atteindre une identification plus personnelle avec l'animal. Tout animal mythique a d'abord été créé dans l'esprit d'un artiste ou d'un conteur. En vous appuyant sur votre connaissance du cheval, imaginez votre propre cheval magique et réalisez-le en terre glaise.

Ressources: sites web et livres

Chevaux, élevage et art
Le musée canadien des civilisations a parrainé un site appelé: Légendes de notre temps: Élevage et vie de rodéo chez les Autochtones des Plaines et du Plateau
http://www.civilization.ca/aborig/rodeo/rodeo00e.html
Ce site explore l'histoire du cheval dans la culture des Premières Nations et décrit les facettes d'une culture fondée sur l'élevage et le rodéo à la fois dans le passé et dans le présent. Ceci comprend les arts et les industries qui se rapportent à l'élevage et au circuit des rodéos. On présente plusieurs artisans dont on donne une courte biographie; le site se concentre presque exclusivement sur la Colombie-Britannique et l'Alberta. À partir de ce site, il est possible d'accéder à des pages consacrées au rodéo dans la région de l'Okanagan.
http://www.civilization.ca/aborig/rodeo/rodeo03e.html
http://www.civilization.ca/aborig/rodeo/rodeo35e.html

Culture Canada: Culture et patrimoine autochtones
http://culturecanada.gc.ca/chdt/interface/interface2.nsf/engdocBasic/1.2.html
Le site du gouvernement canadien a des liens avec des douzaines d'autres sites qui se rapportent à l'histoire, la politique, l'éducation, l'art et la culture des Premières Nations. Il est instructif et bien présenté.

Le Museum of the Cariboo Chilcotin
http://www.cowboy-museum.com/firstnations.htm
Situé à Williams Lake en C-B le musée expose des photographies contemporaines ou historiques de la culture du rodéo et des types d'artisanat se rapportant à l'élevage.

L'art équestre
http://www.equestrianfineart.com/basket/CL_Shop.asp
Il n'est pas particulier aux Premières nations ni même à l'Amérique du Nord. Le site propose des œuvres d'art à vendre, et assure la promotion d'artistes dont le thème porte sur le cheval. Les œuvres comptent différents médias comme la peinture, l'imprimerie et la sculpture.

Livres

Braidei, D. (1977). The life, history and magic of the horse. New York: Grossot and Dunlap.

Fein, S. (1984). Heidi's Horse. Pleasant Hill CA: Exelrod Press.
Écrit par Sylvia Fein, professeur de Beaux-Arts, ce livre contient les dessins réunis et annotés d'une petite fille appelée Heidi, de l'âge de trois ans à celui de dix-sept ans. Le livre permet de bien apprendre à connaître un sujet par le biais du dessin et fournit une étude longitudinale du développement artistique.

Macgregor-Morris, P. (Ed.). (1987). The complete book of the horse. London: New Burlington Press.

Tinkelman, Mr. (1982). Rodeo. New York: Quill.

 



Suivante »» Leçon 3: De l'enfant à l'artiste professionnel
Précédente »» Leçon 1: Pétroglyphes et pictogrammes