The Story The Teacher The Artists Galleries Historical Timeline Media Catalogue Contemporary Research Education
Education

Inkameep Art Education Unit

Lesson 1: Petroglyphs and Pictographs



Catalogue Image: 0100, First studies in Indian art. Sketching rock paintings.
[figure 3. Students copying rock paintings]
Catalogue Image: 0100

Discovering images from the past

An early discovery for Anthony Walsh was rock paintings left by First Nations peoples of generations, perhaps centuries earlier. Petroglyphs are images carved in rock surfaces and pictographs are paintings often appearing on rock walls where, if sheltered by an overhang, often survive the wind, rain, and snow for many years. Often these were markings to record a hunt, a significant event such as a spirit quest, or a rite of passage to adulthood for a young person. At other times they might serve to mark an event of historical interest or serve as a territory sign.

First principles in teaching

For the children at Inkameep, the ancient markings must have been significant, and to their parents and grandparents as well. Here is an art form with personal and cultural significance and relevance for the students. Some might say this is a first principle for teaching begin where the students are. Today, we might call those horseback rides into the hills, a field trip or educational excursion. The research began with a trip to the site where the teacher engaged students in recording through sketching the designs. Figure 3 is a photograph of Francis Baptiste (left) and Ernest Baptiste (right) engaged in sketching the pictographs. The drawings were taken back to the classroom and mounted above the blackboards as shown in the photograph below. Occupying a place of prominence in the classroom, the sketches brought the outside in. The drawings provided validation for the students as artists and their culture as important. Through this activity, there was a sense that the school belonged to the children and to the community.

Catalogue Image: 1963-113-017, Rock Paintings.
[figure 4. Student drawings of rock paintings]
Catalogue Image: 1963-113-017
Catalogue Image: 1963-113-011-d2 , Four School Designs
[figure 5. Student design work]
Catalogue Image: 1963-113-011-d2

There was an important second step in Anthony Walsh's method, the drawings were not left as history but made alive for students as they adapted the designs for present use as they were applied to apparel (moccasins) and other utilitarian items (bags). Revitalizing one's culture through interpreting and innovating is an important theme in education. In Walsh's words "and so a start was made."

In the above example we see some of the simplified images. The identity of some may be guessed while others are difficult to recognize. It is likely that the student, Bertha Baptiste, felt some kind of connection with the people that created these markings and perhaps a connection with the images themselves.

There are design works (figure 5) created by the students that may draw inspiration from the pictographs or perhaps they came from a more immediate source in designs found on local baskets and blankets. Likely this is a drawing exhibited in 1934 by the Royal Drawing Society.




Creating and responding ideas for the classroom

  1. Many students have in their homes, an item of some significance to their family, one that was purchased or made by a grandparent or relative. The item might be a fabric work such as a quilt or crotched shawl; it might be a hand-carved duck or cane; it might be a souvenir purchased abroad on a trip. These could form the basis for a discussion about the unique artistic features as well as age, provenance, and stories of their acquisition or purchase. Alternatively, the teacher might plan a field trip to a heritage museum. In either case, students would be asked to sketch the item(s) as a form of study of their cultural or family history. These drawings are of rather public objects and images.
  2. Keepsakes are commonly associated with important memories. Many students have items of personal significance: small gifts received from friends such as a valentine or friendship bracelet; photographs of special moments such as a graduation, an award for achievement; or words that represent hopes and aspirations. It might take time to reflect and acknowledge the importance of these and what to choose if some were to be included in a container or memory box. Select a small container such as a chocolate box to be decorated; some items will fit within the box quite easily while others will have to be drawn, photographed or photocopied; others items may be represented by writing or even creating small-scale replicas. The contents may remain concealed as personal but the outside of the box should be designed in a way that gives some hint as to the character of the owner.
  3. There are many ways to approach the development of a personal logo. One might involve inventing a font to write your name or initials. Still another might be to explore symbols of your cultural heritage an animal symbol representing tribal identity or clan, an object one might find on a family crest, or a new flag representing all the flags of countries from which your ancestors have come. Logos are all around us and normally they are designed by graphic artists to represent everything from large corporations to charitable organizations and sports teams. Developing a personal logo and wearing it for one day in school would give students a sense of self, as unique and independent of corporations such as Nike and MacDonald's.

Resources: Web Sites and Books

The Lascaux site in France
http://www.culture.gouv.fr/culture/arcnat/lascaux/en/
This is enjoyable and provides a virtual tour through the famous caves painted some 40,000 years ago.

The Canadian Rockhound Magazine site: The Mystery of B.C.'s Rock Art Paintings
http://www.canadianrockhound.com/2000/01/cr0004105_rockart.html
This on-line article by John Ratcliffe is very informative, providing a fine introduction to pictographs in British Columbia.

The Provincial Museum of Alberta of Human History and Archaeology site: What is Rock Art and where can I see it?
http://www.pma.edmonton.ab.ca/human/archaeo/faq/rockart.htm
While the information deals with sites largely scattered around southwestern Alberta, the information would aid in understanding rock art in many regions of Canada and beyond.

Canadian Council for Geographic Education
http://www.ccge.org/ccge/english/teachingResources/lessonIdeas/tr_lesIdeas_rockArt.htm
This website is used as a teaching resource; three lesson plans are provided for teaching about petroglyphs and pictographs.

The Vaseux Lake site in the south Okanagan Valley
http://www.vaseuxlakelodge.com/picto1.html
There are numerous pictures in this web site. There is interpretive information with a list of references and links to other BC rock art sites.

Writing-on-Stone Provincial Park, located in Southern Alberta
http://www.uleth.ca/vft/milkriver/wospp.html
The site is well illustrated, and provides a brief history and description of the area and the Blackfoot people, links to other petroglyph sites, and a virtual tour of the Milk River Valley and the rock art. http://www.uleth.ca/vft/milkriver/native.html#Rock

BCLee's Rock Art
http://www-personal.umich.edu/~bclee/rockart/rockart.html
The website has many excellent photographs; most are from the Southwestern United States.

Books

Dewdney, S. & Kidd, K. (1973). Indian rock paintings of the Great Lakes. Toronto, ON: University of Toronto Press.

Keyser, J. (1992). Indian rock art of the Columbia Basin. Seattle, WA: University of Washington Press.

Hill, B. (1984). Guide to Indian rock carvings of the Pacific Northwest Coast. Surrey, BC: Hancock House Press.

Wooding, F. (1982). Wild animals of Canada. Toronto, ON: McGraw Hill.

 



Next »» Lesson 2: Horses and the Economy
Previous »» Background Information: In the words of Mr. Walsh

L'histoire Le professeur Les artistes Galeries Historique Catalogue médias Recherche actuelle Éducation
Éducation

Unité d'enseignement de l'art Inkameep

Leçon 1: Pétroglyphes et pictogrammes



Image Catalogue: 0100, Élèves copiant des peintures rupestres
[figure 3. Élèves copiant des peintures rupestres]
Image Catalogue: 0100

À la découverte d'images du passé

Anthony Walsh découvrit assez tôt des peintures rupestres attribuées aux peuples des Premières Nations qui dataient de générations antérieures, peut-être de plusieurs siècles auparavant. Les pétroglyphes sont des images gravées à la surface de rochers et les pictogrammes sont des peintures qui apparaissent souvent sur des parois rocheuses où, si elles sont protégées par un encorbellement, ont résisté au vent, à la pluie et à la neige pendant des années. Il s'agissait souvent de marques pour signaler une chasse, un évènement important comme une quête spirituelle ou un rite de passage vers l'âge adulte pour un jeune. Ils ont pu servir en d'autres occasions pour marquer un évènement historique ou servir de signe territorial.

Premiers principes pédagogiques

Ces marques anciennes ont dû avoir un sens pour les enfants d'Inkameep, de même que pour leurs parents et grands-parents. Il s'agit d'une forme d'art qui présente pour les élèves une signification et une pertinence personnelle et culturelle. On pourrait dire qu'il y a là un premier principe pédagogique -commencer dans le lieu même où se trouvent les élèves. De nos jours, on peut appeler cette démarche chevauchées dans les collines, excursion géographique ou pédagogique. La recherche a commencé par une excursion vers le site où le professeur encourageait les élèves à consigner les dessins en en faisant des croquis. La figure 3 est une photographie de Francis Baptiste, à gauche, et d'Ernest Baptiste, à droite, en train de faire des croquis de pictogrammes. Les dessins étaient réunis dans la salle de classe et installés au-dessus des tableaux comme on peut le voir sur la photo ci-dessous. Les croquis occupaient une place importante dans la classe et y introduisaient le monde extérieur. Les dessins confirmaient que les élèves étaient bien des artistes et que leur culture était importante. Cette activité attestait que l'école appartenait aux enfants et à la communauté.

Image Catalogue: 1963-113-017, Dessins d'élèves de peintures rupestres.
[figure 4. Dessins d'élèves de peintures rupestres]
Image Catalogue: 1963-113-017
Image Catalogue: 1963-113-011-d2 , Dessin conçu par un élève
[figure 5. Dessin conçu par un élève]
Image Catalogue: 1963-113-011-d2

La méthode d'Anthony Walsh comportait une deuxième étape importante: les dessins n'étaient pas présents à titre de référence historique, mais étaient des morceaux de vie pour les écoliers à mesure qu'ils en adaptaient les motifs à une utilisation réelle pour leurs vêtements (mocassins) ou d'autres accessoires utiles (sacs). La revitalisation d'une culture par le biais de l'interprétation et de l'innovation est un thème important de la pédagogie. Ou selon les paroles de Walsh: "et c'est ainsi que tout commença."

Dans l'exemple ci-dessus, nous voyons quelques images simplifiées. On peut deviner l'identité de certaines alors que d'autres sont difficiles à reconnaître. Il est probable que l'écolière, Bertha Baptiste, pressentait une sorte de lien avec les gens qui avaient créé ces signes et même peut-être un lien avec les images elles-mêmes.

Certaines œuvres conçues par les élèves (figure 5) pouvaient s'inspirer des pictogrammes ou trouvaient peut-être une origine plus immédiate dans les motifs repérés dans la vannerie ou les couvertures locales. Il s'agit probablement ici d'un dessin exposé en 1934 par la Royal Drawing Society.




Créer des idées et leur donner une suite pour la classe

  1. Beaucoup d'élèves ont chez eux un article qui a une certaine importance pour leur famille, qui a pu être acheté ou fabriqué par un grand parent ou un membre de leur famille. Il peut s'agir d'une œuvre textile comme une courtepointe ou un châle au crochet; d'un canard ou d'un bâton sculptés à la main; d'un souvenir acheté à l'étranger au cours d'un voyage. Ces articles peuvent servir de base à une discussion sur les caractéristiques artistiques originales tout autant que sur l'âge, la provenance et la chronique de leur acquisition ou de leur achat. Ou bien le professeur peut planifier une excursion dans un musée du patrimoine. Dans l'un ou l'autre cas, il faudrait demander aux élèves de dessiner le ou les articles comme forme d'étude de leur histoire familiale ou culturelle. Il s'agit de dessins d'objets et d'images plutôt publics.
  2. Les articles souvenirs s'associent généralement à des souvenirs importants. Beaucoup d'élèves possèdent des objets qui présentent une signification personnelle: de modestes cadeaux offerts par des amis comme un bracelet de St Valentin ou d'amitié; les photos de moments particuliers comme une remise de diplôme, ou d'un prix pour une victoire; ou des mots qui représentent des espoirs ou des souhaits. Il faudra peut-être un peu de temps pour reconnaître l'importance de ces objets et savoir lequel choisir si on doit les mettre dans une boite à souvenirs ou tout autre contenant. Choisissez un petit contenant comme une boite de chocolats qu'il faudra décorer; certains articles s'adapteront bien à la boite, d'autres devront être dessinés, photographiés ou photocopiés. On peut représenter d'autres articles en en faisant une description écrite ou en créant des reproductions à plus petite échelle. Le contenu peut rester caché à titre personnel mais il faudrait concevoir l'extérieur de la boite de façon à donner un indice sur la personnalité du donneur.
  3. Il existe de nombreuses façons d'aborder le développement d'un logo personnalisé. Il est possible d'inventer une police de caractères pour écrire votre nom ou vos initiales. Il est également possible d'explorer des symboles de votre patrimoine culturel -un animal symbolique qui représente l'identité d'une tribu ou d'un clan, un objet que l'on pourrait trouver sur un emblème familial, ou un nouveau drapeau représentant tous les drapeaux des pays d'où sont venus vos ancêtres. Il existe d'innombrables logos autour de nous qui sont habituellement conçus par des graphistes pour représenter à peu près tout des grandes sociétés aux organisations caritatives et aux équipes sportives. Adopter un logo personnel et le porter pendant une journée à l'école donnera aux élèves le sentiment qu'ils ont leur propre personnalité, originale et indépendante des compagnies comme Nike ou MacDonald.

Ressources: sites web et livres

Le site de Lascaux en France
http://www.culture.gouv.fr/culture/arcnat/lascaux/en/
Site intéressant qui offre une visite virtuelle des célèbres grottes peintes il y a environ 40.000 ans.

Site du Canadian Rockhound Magazine: The Mystery of B.C.'s Rock Art Paintings (Le mystère des peintures rupestres de B.C.)
http://www.canadianrockhound.com/2000/01/cr0004105_rockart.html
Cet article en ligne écrit par John Ratcliffe est très instructif et donne une bonne introduction aux pictogrammes de Colombie-Britannique.

Site du Provincial Museum of Alberta of Human History and Archaeology: What is Rock Art and where can I see it?
http://www.pma.edmonton.ab.ca/human/archaeo/faq/rockart.htm
L'information traite de sites éparpillés dans la partie méridionale de l'Alberta, et permettra de comprendre la peinture rupestre de diverses régions du Canada et plus.

Le Conseil canadien de l'enseignement de la géographie
http://www.ccge.org/ccge/english/teachingResources/lessonIdeas/tr_lesIdeas_rockArt.htm
Ce site web s'utilise comme ressource d'apprentissage; trois plans de cours sont fournis pour l'enseignement des pétroglyphes et des pictogrammes.

Site du lac Vaseux dans le sud de la vallée de l'Okanagan
http://www.vaseuxlakelodge.com/picto1.html
Ce site comporte de nombreuses photographies. Il y a de l'information didactique et une liste de références et de liens avec d'autres sites d'art rupestre en C-B.

Parc provincial Writing-on-Stone, situé dans le sud de l'Alberta
http://www.uleth.ca/vft/milkriver/wospp.html
Le site est bien illustré et donne une brève histoire et une description de la région et des Blackfoot, des liens avec d'autres sites de pétroglyphes et une visite virtuelle de la Milk River Valley et de l'art rupestre.

Art rupestre de BCLee
http://www-personal.umich.edu/~bclee/rockart/rockart.html
Ce site web possède d'excellentes photographies: la plupart sont du sud-ouest des États-Unis.

Livres

Dewdney, S. & Kidd, K. (1973). Indian rock paintings of the Great Lakes. Toronto, ON: University of Toronto Press.

Keyser, J. (1992). Indian rock art of the Columbia Basin. Seattle, WA: University of Washington Press.

Hill, B. (1984). Guide to Indian rock carvings of the Pacific Northwest Coast. Surrey, BC: Hancock House Press.

Wooding, F. (1982). Wild animals of Canada. Toronto, ON: McGraw Hill.

 



Suivante »» Leçon 2: Les chevaux et l'économie
Précédente »» Données historiques: avec les mots de Mr. Walsh